Slide POLYMER THERAPEUTICS Maria J Vicent





Polymer Therapeutics, considered the first polymeric nanomedicines.

Polymer therapeutics already attained clinical proof-of-concept with many products on the market and two of them reaching the US top-ten best selling drugs  (Copaxone and Neulasta). However, there still exist opportunities to expand and develop this technological platform in areas such as i) delivery of single/combination anti-cancer agents against novel molecular targets, ii) development of novel polymeric materials with defined architectures, and (iii) treatment of diseases other than cancer, such as neurodegeneration. The polymer therapeutics laboratory at the CIPF remains focused on these exciting research areas. Our research activity comprises the design of advanced polymer conjugates – novel therapeutic and/or diagnostic nanopharmaceuticals with applications in metastatic cancer, neurodegeneration, and tissue regeneration among others. The development of polypeptide-based biodegradable carriers, the application of combination therapies, and the design of nanoconjugates and hybrid systems for novel molecular targets, represent some of the approaches we follow to achieve specific and effective polymer therapeutic treatments for a range of diseases and disorders. Additionally, the implementation of quantitative tools to assess in vitro and in vivo fate of polymer therapeutics permits the investigation of how spatial conformation affects trafficking, pharmacokinetics and whole body biodistribution so permitting the exploration of a range of clinical applications.

Presentation

Get to know us better

Research Staff

People who make it possible

Maria Jesus Vicent Docon
mjvicent@cipf.es

Ana Armiñan Benito
aarminan@cipf.es

Stuart P Atkinson 
satkinson@cipf.es

Inmaculada Conejos Sanchez
iconejos@cipf.es

María Medel González
mmedel@cipf.es

Maria Helena Ferrandis Jimenez
mhelena@cipf.es

Esther Masia Sanchis
emasia@cipf.es

David Charbonnier 
dcharbonnier@cipf.es

Susana Vila Vicent
svila@cipf.es

Tetiana Melnyk 
tmelnyk@cipf.es

Fernanda Dayana Rodríguez Otormin
frodriguezo@cipf.es

Paula Soriano Teruel
psoriano@cipf.es

Paz Boix Montesinos
pboix@cipf.es

Antoni Serrano Marti
aserrano@cipf.es

Snezana Dordevic 
sdordevic@cipf.es

Camilla Pegoraro 
cpegoraro@cipf.es

Inés Domingo Ortí
idomingo@cipf.es

Publications

Our contribution to science

Characterization of triple-negative breast cancer preclinical models provides functional evidence of metastatic progression
Arroyo-Crespo JJ, Armiñán A, Charbonnier D, Deladriere C, Palomino-Schätzlein M, Lamas-Domingo R, Forteza J, Pineda-Lucena A and Vicent MJ
INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF CANCER, 2019 Oct,  Vol. 145,  pag. 2267-2281

Metabolomics facilitates the discrimination of the specific and-cancer effects of free and polymer conjugated doxorubicin in breast cancer models
A. ARMINAN, M. PALOMINO-SCHATZLEIN, C. DELADRIERE, J. ARROYO-CRESPO, S. VICENTE-RUIZ, M. VICENT and A. PINEDA-LUCENA
BIOMATERIALS, 2018 Apr,  Vol. 162,  pag. 144-153

Anticancer Activity Driven by Drug Linker Modification in a Polyglutamic Acid-Based Combination-Drug Conjugate
J. ARROYO-CRESPO, C. DELADRIERE, V. NEBOT, D. CHARBONNIER, E. MASIA, A. PAUL, C. JAMES, A. ARMINAN and M. VICENT
ADVANCED FUNCTIONAL MATERIALS, 2018 May,  Vol. 28,  pag. 1800931

HIF-1 alpha inhibition by diethylstilbestrol and its polyacetal conjugate in hypoxic prostate tumour cells: insights from NMR metabolomics
A. ARMINAN, L. MENDES, J. CARROLA, J. MOVELLAN, M. VICENT and I. DUARTE
JOURNAL OF DRUG TARGETING, 2017 Jan,  Vol. 25,  pag. 845-855

Capturing "Extraordinary" Soft-Assembled Charge-Like Polypeptides as a Strategy for Nanocarrier Design
A. DURO-CASTANO, V. NEBOT, A. NINO-PARIENTE, A. ARMINAN, J. ARROYO-CRESPO, A. PAUL, N. FEINER-GRACIA, L. ALBERTAZZI and M. VICENT
ADVANCED MATERIALS, 2017 Oct,  Vol. 29,  pag. 1702888

FUNDING

Thank you for supporting us

marie